2012 Annual Meeting Program

//2012 Annual Meeting Program

2012 Annual Meeting Program

Jewish Federation 2012 Annual Meeting –
“Federation is Vibrant and Vital”
-by Dassy Ganz

On Thursday, June 14th, the Koppelman Auditorium of the Scranton JCC was filled with beautiful and educational displays of the work done by the various agencies that are funded by and under the umbrella of the Jewish Federation of NEPA.

Representatives of the agencies were available to respond to any and all questions about their displays and to more fully describe their projects and activities.

Chairs for the event were Seth and Sheryl Gross who opened the meeting with kudos to the agencies and to encourage the large crowd to visit each exhibit after the meeting if they hadn’t already done so.

They pointed out the Federation’s 2011-2012 Annual Report that had been placed on each seat for everyone to peruse. Cantor Charles Osborne led the assembled guests in both the Star Spangled Banner and Hatikvah.

Then, the awards and honors were bestowed on Margaret Sheldon (outgoing Federation President), Doug Fink and Barbara Nivert (2012 UJA Campaign Chairs), Tova Weiss (retiring Director of the Holocaust Education Resource Center) and Lil Walsh (retiring Federation bookkeeper).

Margaret offered a memorial to those in the Federation family who had passed away this year. Leah Laury, a member of the Nominating Committee, brought forth the slate of Officers and Trustees for the coming year. All present voted to accept the slate as read and Rabbi Daniel Swartz of Temple Hesed installed the new group of Trustees and Officers.

Incoming Federation President, Jeff Rubel, accepted his new role with his closing remarks and thanks were extended to Seth and Sheryl Gross for chairing the event and to Dassy Ganz, Sheryl Gross and their Committee for the dessert reception which followed.

Overheard were comments like: “This was the best Annual Meeting in a long time”. “We should have our agencies display like this every few years. It was an exciting addition.”

Click here for the 2012 Annual Report

2012 Annual Meeting

“Celebrating our Partner Agencies”

 Scranton Jewish Community Center
Koppelman Auditorium
Thursday, June 14th, 2012
7:00 PM


Welcome & introductions
Presidential Award Presentation
Presentation UJA Campaign Chairman Award
Presentation of UJA Women’s Campaign Award
Recognition of UJA Campaign Leadership
Presentation of Holocaust Education Award
Presentation of Award to Mary Lil Walsh
Nominating Committee Report
Installation of Officers and Trustees
Seth/Sheryl Gross, Chairpersons
Cantor Charles Osborne
Rabbi Daniel Swartz, Temple Hesed
Margaret Sheldon, President
Mark Silverberg, Executive Director
Margaret Sheldon, President
Margaret Sheldon, President
Douglas Fink, General Campaign
Bill & Carol Burke
Mark Silverberg, Executive Director
Michael Greenstein, Chair
Rabbi Daniel Swartz, Temple Hesed

Concluding Remarks
Jeff Rubel, Incoming President



By | 2018-01-10T16:18:03+00:00 February 20th, 2012|Categories: Uncategorized|Comments Off on 2012 Annual Meeting Program

About the Author: